Home > News > Call for Nominations – Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards – Deadline Jan 8

Call for Nominations – Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards – Deadline Jan 8

Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards

Deadline for submissions:
Friday, January 8, 2021, 5:00pm


TWA Hotel, 2020 Moses Award recipient

The New York Landmarks Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s architectural legacy for nearly 50 years. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, architects, craftspeople, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John Belle, John H. Beyer, Simon Breines, Stephen Briganti, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, Barnett Shepherd, Robert Silman, and Anthony C. Wood.

Only projects that are substantially completed during 2020 and located within the five boroughs of New York City will be considered. Books, other publications, and films are not eligible.


All nominations due by Friday, January 8, 2021, 5:00pm

Nominations for individuals must include:
A one- to two-page narrative of why the person deserves recognition. Please send, along with supporting documents, to mosesawards@nylandmarks.org

Nominations for projects must include:
1. The nomination form.

2. A brief (1-2 page) narrative explaining the history and scope of work of the project, and why it deserves recognition. The narrative may be uploaded to the nomination form.

3. At least 10 digital images.

  • 10 images totaling up to 25MB may be uploaded in the form.
  • Additional (or larger) photos/files may be sent to mosesawards@nylandmarks.org.
  • Images should be submitted in the form of JPEG files, at least 300 dpi and 4″ x 6.”
  • Photo credits must be submitted with photos.
  • Each image should have a file name that includes the name of the project.
  • Before and after images are encouraged.
  • JPEGs shouldn’t have text or formatting, such as watermarks, borders, or copyright marks.
  • PowerPoints and PDFs may be included as part of the nomination, but every image should also be submitted as a separate JPEG.

The nomination will not be considered complete until all materials are submitted.

Please submit any additional nomination materials by email to mosesawards@nylandmarks.org.

If you have any questions about the Moses Awards please email Andrea Goldwyn at andreagoldwyn@nylandmarks.org.


Support Us


Your donation helps us expand our reach and be your voice for preservation.

Make A Donation

Become A Member

Join the Conservancy and be part of our mission to save New York’s extraordinary architectural heritage.

Join Us

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up to receive our free E-Newsletter, informative alerts, our monthly Mystery Landmark contest, and our monthly Tourist in Your Own Town video series.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: New York Landmarks Conservancy. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact