Home > News > The Moses Awards Back in Person

The Moses Awards Back in Person

We were thrilled to hold our 32nd annual Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards last night, back in person, at The Cathedral of St. John the Divine. It was wonderful to see so many friends and colleagues.

The awards honored a diverse array of preservation projects including new affordable housing, renewed park sites, and restoring the sleek silhouette of the Empire State Building spire. The owners of all our project buildings demonstrated their belief in New York. And the many jobs provided were a welcome boost to the City’s economy.

Alex Herrera, photo by Noel Sutherland

PHOTOS FROM THE EVENT (all photos by Noel Sutherland)

We were also delighted to honor Yuien Chin for her dedication to preserving Harlem, our former colleague Alex Herrera for his remarkable preservation career, and the Prospect Park Alliance for their years of work maintaining Olmsted and Vaux’s great masterwork.

We will be posting a video of the ceremony on YouTube within the next few days. The virtual awards programs we posted for the last two years have proved to be very popular. We’re pleased there is such an audience for preservation and will keep up our video productions.

Event Program / Ad Journal

Moses Awards Honorees
Yuien Chin – Preservation Leadership Award
Alex Herrera – Special Award for Preservation Service
Prospect Park Alliance – Preservation Organization Award

Preservation Project Awards
1 West 123rd Street
74 Grand Street
287 Broadway
Astoria Park Pool and Play Center
Empire State Building Mooring Mast
Farley Building Postal Lobby
Gage & Tollner
Helmsley Building
Highbridge Water Tower & Step-Street
Noonan Plaza Apartments
One Wall Street
Power Station at Berklee NYC
T Building
Trinity Church Wall Street

The New York Landmarks Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s architectural legacy for nearly 50 years. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, architects, craftspeople, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John Belle, John H. Beyer, Fred Bland, Simon Breines, Stephen Briganti, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Andrew Dolkart, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, Barnett Shepherd, Robert Silman, and Anthony C. Wood.



Support Us


Your donation helps us expand our reach and be your voice for preservation.

Make A Donation

Become A Member

Join the Conservancy and be part of our mission to save New York’s extraordinary architectural heritage.

Join Us

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up to receive our free E-Newsletter, informative alerts, our monthly Mystery Landmark contest, and our monthly Tourist in Your Own Town video series.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: New York Landmarks Conservancy. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact