Home > News > Here’s to the Lucy’s! Moses Awards Virtual Celebration a Success – Watch our Video

Here’s to the Lucy’s! Moses Awards Virtual Celebration a Success – Watch our Video


Celebrating 30 Years
The Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards

Here’s to the Lucy’s! The 30th Lucy G. Moses Awards were a joyous, virtual celebration that featured an outstanding variety of projects and great preservation leaders. The video presentation is available here. It features a tribute to 30 years of Moses Awards and recognizes this year’s recipients.

In honor of the 30th anniversary, we gave out special Founders’ Awards to Stephen Lash and Susan Henshaw Jones, who were instrumental in creating the Moses Awards, and to Joseph Fishman, who represents the Henry and Lucy Moses Fund, which supports the Awards.

Preservation advocate Anthony C. Wood and Stephen Briganti, President and CEO of the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island Foundation received Leadership Awards.  Our Preservation Project Awards ranged from a charming, wood-clad house in Bushwick to the Harlem Fire Watchtower, and the glorious TWA Hotel.

An after-party on Zoom brought together the honorees, contractors and architects, and the Conservancy community.  It was a wonderful celebration of preservation’s role in the City we love.

PROGRAM JOURNAL – with more info on projects.

This year we honor…

Preservation Leadership Award
Anthony C. Wood
Advocate and Founder, New York Preservation Archive Project

Public Leadership in Preservation Award
Stephen Briganti
President and CEO, The Statue of Liberty – Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.

Moses Founders’ Award
Joseph Fishman
Henry and Lucy Moses Fund, Inc.

Susan Henshaw Jones
Former President, The New York Landmarks Conservancy

Stephen Lash
Board Member, The New York Landmarks Conservancy

Preservation Project Awards
817 Broadway
Belvedere Castle
Doering-Bohack House
Empire Stores
Fire Watchtower at Marcus Garvey Park
Fort Totten, Building 207
Fotografiska New York
Henry Street Settlement, Dale Jones Burch Neighborhood Center
Manhattan Civic Buildings
-Appellate Division Courthouse
-Surrogate’s Courthouse
-Sun Building
McGraw-Hill Building
Church of St. Anselm & St. Roch
St. Paul’s Chapel, Columbia University
TWA Hotel

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John Belle, Simon Breines, John H. Beyer, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, Barnett Shepherd, and Robert Silman.

Only projects that were substantially completed during 2019 and located within the five boroughs of New York City were considered. Books, other publications, and films are not eligible.

If you have any questions about the Moses Awards please email Andrea Goldwyn at andreagoldwyn@nylandmarks.org.


The 31st Annual Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards will be held April 14, 2021 at The Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine.

Support Us


Your donation helps us expand our reach and be your voice for preservation.

Make A Donation

Become A Member

Join the Conservancy and be part of our mission to save New York’s extraordinary architectural heritage.

Join Us

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up to receive our free E-Newsletter, informative alerts, our monthly Mystery Landmark contest, and our monthly Tourist in Your Own Town video series.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: New York Landmarks Conservancy. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact