Loading Events
Home > Events > Call for Nominations – Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards – Deadline Jan 8

Call for Nominations – Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards – Deadline Jan 8

About the Event

Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards

Deadline for submissions:
Monday, January 8, 2024 – 4:00pm

2022 Moses Awards Winner Lefferts Historic House, Brooklyn. (Photo: Jordan Rathkopf)

The New York Landmarks Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s architectural legacy for 50 years. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, architects, craftspeople, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

The Preservation and Public Leadership Awards are bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John H. Beyer, Laurie Beckelman, Fred Bland, Stephen Briganti, Yuien Chin, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Andrew Dolkart, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Alex Herrera, Anne Van Ingen, John J. (Jack) Kerr, Jr., Nancy, and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont,  Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Barnett Shepherd, and Anthony C. Wood.

Only projects that are substantially completed during 2023 and located within the five boroughs of New York City will be considered. Books, other publications, and films are not eligible.


Please submit by Monday, January 8, 2024 – 4:00pm

Nominations for individuals should include:
A one- to two-page narrative of why the person deserves recognition. Please send, along with supporting documents, to mosesawards@nylandmarks.org

Nominations for projects should include:


Three brief statements explaining (up to one page each)
1. The history of the project/site.
2. The scope of work.
3. Why this project deserves recognition.

Please upload statements to the nomination form.

At least 10 images are required, and more are welcome.

10 images totaling up to 25MB may be uploaded in the form.

Additional (or larger) photos/files may be sent to mosesawards@nylandmarks.org

Images should be submitted in the form of JPEG files,
at least 300 dpi and 4″ x 6.”

Photo credits must be submitted with photos.

Each image should have a file name that includes the name of the project.

Before and after images are encouraged.

JPEGs shouldn’t have text or formatting, such as watermarks, borders, or copyright marks.

PowerPoints and PDFs may be included as part of the nomination, but every image should also be submitted as a separate JPEG.

If you have any questions about the Moses Awards please email Andrea Goldwyn at andreagoldwyn@nylandmarks.org.

Click here to learn more about the Moses Awards from last year.

Support Us


Your donation helps us expand our reach and be your voice for preservation.

Make A Donation

Become A Member

Join the Conservancy and be part of our mission to save New York’s extraordinary architectural heritage.

Join Us

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up to receive our free E-Newsletter, informative alerts, our monthly Mystery Landmark contest, and our monthly Tourist in Your Own Town video series.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: New York Landmarks Conservancy. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact